I have finally received my OCC Lip tar 6 Packs.  I blogged about them a couple of weeks ago, and said I might get all three of them… Well lo and behold I got all three of them.  I think I am a bit of a shop-a-holic  especially when it comes to super pigmented gloss/lipstick hybrids.

I was most excited about the Pastels pack, until I realized all the light colors look totally weird on me because I am so pale.  I think they are probably reasonably hard to wear on anyone, I will save those for fashion/editorial shoots.  I think they would really rock on an ebony beauty.

Anyway, I got the three 6 packs of lip tars OCC brought out again.  The packs were themed, Not-of-this-earth-tones contained rich beige’s, browns and red tones and specifically had Conquest, Petty Beige, Analog, Red Iron Oxide, Melange, and Uber

The Beyond Pastel Pack had … pastels, especially pinks and purples, though they did throw in cha-cha which is a light tangerine color, and Lo-Fi which is a bright neon pastel green.  Specifically this pack contained Tone, Plum, Pageant, Vapid, Lo-Fi, and  Cha Cha

The last pack is probably the most useful and has some of my favorite colors. The Primary Mix Masters pack, has everything you need to create any color of the rainbow.  It has the primary colors, plus black, white and grey, Specifically this pack contains, Stalker, Traffic, RX, Tarred, Dangerous, and  Feathered.

I am really used to ordering all of my makeup products from Camera Ready Cosmetics which has the worlds fastest shipping from any online store ever. Of course I didn’t realize this, and when I ordered from OCC I expected my package to be here in 3 days like I was used to.  I actually had quite a bit of problems regarding my order, the first time I ordered the payment didn’t go through, and I wasn’t aware until I emailed OCC a week later wondering why I hadn’t gotten my shipping info.  The bad thing about this was I had  all ready thrown out the pre paid credit card I used to make the purchase so that morning was spent totally freaking out and looking through the garbage.

After I  found the card, placed my order the second time, and was reassured by OCC  that this time my order has indeed gone through. I waited another week before again asking where my shipping info was, this time one of the Lip Tars in the pastels pack had been sold out and they had to wait for it to come back before they could send my order out.  Finally my order was shipped on the 27th of July! Only 2 weeks after I had initially attempted to order.

Now there I was, impatiently waiting for this wonderful package of goodies I had just dropped 165$ on to get here.  I checked the tracking info every day, and after it first said it left NY, it never was updated again.  I called USPS and asked them about this,  Just a heads up for everyone international ordering from OCC or anywhere else… Unless you pay extra to make it by courier, when they ship orders internationally they downgrade the package from priority to first class, which basically means you don’t get any shipping info, they have no time limit on how long it will take to get to you, and if it gets lost there is no insurance provided.  The guy explaining this to me actually said ” I am going to tell you something not many people know.” To say the least I was pretty peeved.

Luckily, my package came today! after only 9 business days and 13 days total, which isn’t horrible I suppose, but it’s still a pretty long time, considering I only live in Canada, not anywhere over seas.

The above picture, shows the select lip tars I did swatches of, I also threw anime in their to show you the difference between it and pageant.  Anime was NOT included in the 6 packs.

I am going to start with my favorites!

Melange:

As I stated above I thought the pastels were going to be my favorites, matter of fact I had been pining for CHA-CHA for ever! I didn’t expect to fall so in love with melange.  But I really have! I might even take it and keep it for myself, instead of for my kit.  The color is darker than I expected and not as orangey.  It is just really flattering, if you have light skin like I do I suggest grabbing this one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stalker:

Stalker is another one of my favorites! I always have a hard time finding a perfect red for my skin tone.  Most reds lip way too harsh on my skin tone.  This however is beautiful! I would even say it is a little pinky.  I think NSFW would be a better color to mix with, it seems more primary red then this one does. Luckily I have it, so I will try both out and see which one gets better results.  Pale girls looking for a perfect red? Grab stalker, you wont be dissapointed I promise.

 

 

 

 

 

CHA-CHA:

This Color I was more then a little dissapointed with.  On the website it used to say pinked cantaloupe, but now says light creamy tangerine. It really is a light tangerine, but the color looks nothing like other swatches I have seen of it… maybe they changed the color/formula slightly?  Who knows, needless to say it was more orange then I expected. But it will still be useful for shoots, though it is way too light and looks weird  on me.

 

 

 

 

 

Vapid:

This color is crazy! My camera can’t even handle Vapid, not even a little bit.  This is an ultra pastel, the lightest purple you will ever find.  OCC says bubblegum lavender,  I’m gonna say it is purple tinged milk.  I noticed the lighter colors seem a little thinner, then the darker colors.  I had to use more to cover my lips when it came to Vapid, and Conquest barely covered my lips no matter how much I put on.  I don’t think my lips are overly pigmented either.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Petty Beige:

I am still on the fence about this color, I think if I added a little bit of white to it, it would make the best nude lip ever. It is once again darker than I expected. It’s very  beige, a little darker than that beige everyone paints the walls of renters apartments, and new houses.  It’s not really unflattering, but I am just unsure about it. It doesn’t make me look like a corpse though, which I always think beige will… so that’s a plus!

 

 

 

 

 

Dangerous: 

I am so in love with this color! Grey Grey every day!  It inspires so many shoot ideas in me it’s crazy, I very seriously want to do a shoot in color, but make it look black and white using makeup… Pleasantville style!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pageant VS Anime:

This last swatch I did, I used anime on the top lip and pageant on the tip lip to show the differences.  Pageant is gorgeous and very wearable but still bold. Anime was always a little too crazy for me, and it stained lips for weeks.  Pageant  came off a lot easier, and is just beautiful.  Beauty Queen Pink/Fuchsia. YES PLEASE!

The very last thing I did with the pageant lip tar is I tested it out as a cheek stain/ cream blush.  A little bird told me that these are amazing for cream blush, and I just had to try it out. Cream blushes are some of my favorite things. The lasting power of lip tars really make them an unbeatable cheek stain.

Here is a photo of pageant as a cream blush

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All  in all, I don’t think you can beat the price. 18 lip tars for 150 bucks + shipping. That is a steal!  Especially because they can double as cheek stains, you can use them to body paint.  They really are the best, I use them every chance I get on shoots, because nothing and I mean NOTHING looks as good.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

